You are currently viewing Austria becomes the latest EU country to lift all of its COVID-19 entry requirements

Austria becomes the latest EU country to lift all of its COVID-19 entry requirements

Austrian authorities have announced that from today, May 16, all travelers will be allowed unrestricted entry as the country has decided to lift all of its COVID-19 entry requirements.

The news of the lifting of entry restrictions was announced by Austria’s official travel portal,

“Travel to Austria is possible for tourism purposes. As of May 16th, proof of vaccination/convalescence or testing will no longer be required.” is the statement of the portal.

This means that all travelers, regardless of their country of origin, can now travel to Austria for all possible purposes without having to present valid proof of vaccination, recovery or a test upon entry.

Additionally, travelers no longer need to fill out a pre-clearance form. Such a requirement previously applied to those who did not have any of the certificates.

In addition to lifting entry requirements, Austria has already lifted its domestic restrictions. Travelers no longer have to wear a face mask or show one of the passes when accessing various public places and events, including accommodation facilities, cafes, restaurants and cultural institutions.

It is believed that the Austrian authorities, taking into account the low infection rates and high vaccination rates, have decided to lift the entry regulations and now allow all travelers unrestricted entry.

According to the World Health Organization, Austria has reported 29,576 new cases of COVID-19 infection in the past seven days.

As for vaccination rates, the European Center for Disease Prevention and Control shows that a total of 18,308,168 vaccine doses had been administered in Austria as of May 12. The same further shows that 83.1 percent of the total adult population in Austria have completed primary vaccination and another 68.7 percent have received an additional dose of vaccination.

Besides Austria, another 15 EU/EEA countries – Bulgaria, Czech Republic, Denmark, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Latvia, Lithuania, Norway, Poland, Romania, Slovenia, Sweden and Switzerland – have all already given up their COVID-19 -Entry requirements.

All travelers can travel freely to the above countries without a valid vaccination, recovery or test certificate.

In contrast to these countries, several popular European destinations such as Germany and Portugal, among others, still require travelers to follow entry requirements. As the summer season approaches, travelers expect all remaining countries to lift their entry requirements.

Editor’s Choice:

Leave a Reply